Perform a closing

The purpose of a closing is to record definitely your sale and payment operations to ensure reliable accounting records.


1/ Close a sale

A sale is closed when you click on the 'Close the sale' button. This operation is irreversible. When a sale is closed, it is not possible to change its fiscal data (prices, tax rates…).

A closed sale takes a single ID number, that follows a continuous and chronological sequence (more information).

To cancel partially or fully a sale, you must make a reverse sale (more information).


2/ Close a day

In the end of day report (Reports/End of day), you will find all sales closed at the date selected.
A day is a period of 24 hours starting at the time selected when you create your account (midnight is the default value).

You can run a X report at any point during the day. A X report is a snapshot situation of your daily sales. It helps you check that payments received match with what is expected (credit card receipt reconciliation, cash counts…).
Before closing the day, we recommend to proceed to a cash count (more information).

If you find discrepancies, you can still modify these non fiscal data (switch payment types, update customer data…). More information.

To print a Z report (final end-of-day report), you must close the day at the end of the end of day report.

You can close your day before the closing time of your account, if you enable the right in 'Settings/Users/Access Management': 'Authorize an early closing of the day'.
If you proceed to an early closing, it will not be possible to close any future sale on this day.

The daily closing is irreversible. The daily closing will also closed all unclosed past days on your account.

When a day is closed, it is no more possible to change data on sales of this day.
To modify a sale you must make a reverse sale.


3/ Close a month

A month is closed when all the days of the month are closed.
In 'Accouting/Month-end closing' tab, you can close the whole month (all days of the selected month will be closed).
A month can be closed only if past months have been already closed.

When a month is closed, a record is automatically generated. Click on the 'archive' icon (on an orange background) to download it.

You will find the end of month report in 'Accounting/End of month'.


4/ Close a year

A year is closed when all months of the year are closed.